diagnostic imaging accreditation scheme

Achieve and maintain your diagnostic imaging accreditation

Diagnostic imaging accreditation provides assurance for the provision of quality of services and appropriate and safe performance of procedures for patients/customers, owners, managers, staff and funding bodies.


The Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation Scheme was developed to ensure consistency in safety and quality standards across all radiology and non-radiology services across a wide range of practice types.

This scheme linked mandatory accreditation to the payment of Medicare benefits for radiology and non-radiology services.

Stage I of the Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation Scheme commenced on 1 July 2008 and covered practices providing radiology services. The Stage I Scheme concluded on 30 June 2010.

From 1 July 2010, the Stage II Scheme commenced and included service providers delivering radiology and non-radiology services such as cardiac ultrasound and angiography, obstetric and gynaecological ultrasound and nuclear medicine imaging services.

Before being eligible to provide Medicare funded diagnostic imaging services, your practice must have an LSPN and must be accredited under the DIAS.  The LSPN is a unique identifier which is required to be submitted as part of each Medicare claim for diagnostic imaging or radiation oncology services.

What is the difference between the diagnostic imaging accreditation scheme (DIAS) and the medical imaging accreditation program (MIAP)?

The RANZCR/NATA Medical Imaging Accreditation Program (MIAP) is a voluntary accreditation program for providers of diagnostic imaging services whereas the Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation Scheme (DIAS) is a mandatory scheme for any practice providing diagnostic imaging services listed in the Diagnostic Imaging Services Table (DIST) of the Medicare Benefits Schedule (MBS).  Practices with Medical Imaging Accreditation (MIAP) also meet the requirements of the mandatory DIAS.

Diagnostic imaging modalities

Diagnostic imaging accreditation (Stage II) is applicable to the following modalities:

  • Ultrasound
  • Computed Tomography
  • General Radiology (X-ray)
  • Mammography
  • Angiography
  • Fluoroscopy
  • Orthopantomography (OPG)
  • Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI)
  • Cardiac Ultrasound
  • Cardiac Angiography
  • Obstetric and Gynaecological Ultrasound
  • Nuclear Medicine Imaging

What are the benefits of diagnostic imaging accreditation?

  • Maintain access to Medicare funding for diagnostic imaging services
  • Comply with regulatory requirements
  • Improve patient/customer focus by ensuring customer expectations are met
  • Promote the quality and safety of the service¬† provided to consumers
  • Provide confidence for clients and patients/customers
  • Enjoy a marketing advantage over practices/service providers who are not accredited

Call us today to discuss your diagnostic imaging accreditation requirements.